Anna Piaggi: One Of The Last True Style Icons

      I’ve been MIA from the blog for a bit, I’m vacationing on an island in Croatia and finding stable internet has been a problem.  More on my vacation later but now I turn my attention to the death of Anna Piaggi last week at the age 81. If you’re a fashion lover then I’m sure you’re very familiar with her, if not then you need to know she was one of the last true style icons in the fashion world, a piece of walking art. Anna was an Italian Fashion editor and journalist most notable for her long standing contributions to Vogue Italia where she was celebrated for her  D.P. (double page) spreads which were  her unique ways of tracking trends with amazing collages, which combined both fashion, text and culture. She was also a muse to Lagerfeld, Manolo Blahnik and milliner Stephen Jones.

      In 2006, the Victoria and Albert Museum held an exhibition called ‘Anna Piaggi Fashion-ology’, exhibiting a personal clothing archive, focusing on her extensive collection of vintage couture and designer clothing including pieces by Balenciaga, Fendi, Galliano and Poiret. I missed it as I left London at the time but I managed to get the brochure at least. I grew up watching a program called Fashion Television in Canada and seeing Piaggi grace the front rows of the big fashion events and give her thoughts on the latest styles. She was always dressed so eccentrically, that I would almost shift my focus from the fashion show she was talking about and stand in awe of her boldness and cute Italian accent, which only added to her eccentricity. Her opinion was one that mattered and it was always well thought out. She was one of a couple of people who stood out to me while my fashion preferences where being shaped along with Isabella Blow, Daphne Guinness and designers like McQueen and Galliano.  It’s sad that now only two on that list are still alive and one of those is in fashion exile.

Here is a glimpse into Anna Piaggi’s infamous double pages and her book ‘Fashion Algebra’ which is a retrospective of the D.P. highlights:

I think this obituary by the Telegraph really sums up how fantastic she was, with a great bio and a most amusing quote from her about one of her daring outfits which included two dead pigeons:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obituaries/9467692/Anna-Piaggi.html

 

Leave a Reply

